Review & Giveaway: Eureka Endeavor NLS Vacuum

by Jenn @ Frugal Upstate on October 3, 2011

This week the folks at Eureka gave me the chance to review one of their new Eureka Endeavor NLS (Never Loses Suction) vacuum cleaners.  Not only that-but they offered me one to give away to a lucky reader!  How’s that for a deal?

The Eureka Endeavor NLS is a 16.75 lb, 12 amp vacuum that retails for $79.88 at Walmart (or Walmart.com). The unit is a bagless upright and includes an Arm & Hammer HEPA flter that captures 99,97% of allergens and pet dander while eliminating odors. The HEPA filter should be replaced every 6 months

I didn’t have to assemble the unit, as it was sent to me fully assembled (I’ve put together Eureka products before-they are usually pretty simple).  After taking it out of the box I gave it a test run on my living room rugs and then tried out the PET Power Paw attachment on my stairs.  The vacuum moved easily and picked up debris and dirt well.

To empty the dirt from the bagless canister you simply push a button and remove the canister, hold it over your trash can and gently flip the catch on the bottom of the canister.  The entire bottom of the canister pops open and the dirt falls into the can.

Here the canister is open-before I started vacuuming ;)

Here the canister is dumping dirt into the trash after vacuuming. Boy, did my floors need that!

I love that feature-it makes it so much easier to clean the can.  The latch on the unit both on the bottom of the canister and a the top of the canister where you can take it apart for cleaning are both made of a single molded piece of plastic-which means you are relying on the “give” of the plastic when you snap it open.

Pers0nally I'd prefer to see an actual jointed piece there-we at the Frugal Upstate household are rather hard on things and I would worry that eventually that piece may snap with rough use. However considering the price of the unit ($79.88) and the cleaning power I can accept the single piece construction.The directions for washing it are right on the canister

Speaking of taking apart the canister-that’s another thing I love about this style of bagless vacuum that Eureka makes-the entire canister comes apart and every piece of it, including the filter (although not the HEPA filter down below) are meant to be rinsed out and reused.  I think this keeps the vacuum much cleaner.

Hmm. This came out a bit blurry. . .

I also tried out the PET Power Paw attachment.  Those looks pretty much like your standard “power” attachment, but it has small plastic notches and a rubber strip that are supposed to help grab pet hair from upholstery, curtains and shades.  Since our dog Summer isn’t allowed up on the furniture or on the stairs I didn’t really get to test that part of it-the normal vacuum is what picked up most of her hair.  However I though the brush did a fine job and seemed to have good suction on the stairs.

For more information check out the Eureka Endeavor NLS for sale at Walmart.

And now on to the fun part–the giveaway!

This giveaway runs from today-October 3rd through midnight EST Sunday October 9th.

To enter, just leave a comment telling me why YOU need the Eureka Edeavor NLS.

Good luck!  You can also “like” the Eureka Facebook page (keep your eye on them for other giveaways!) or follow them on Twitter.

****This is a sponsored post****
Disclosure: This review and giveaway is being sponsored by Eureka.  They provided me with the unit  for testing and will provide and ship the vacuum to the winner of the giveaway. My participation is voluntary and opinions, as always, are my own.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Melanie Nelson October 3, 2011 at 8:14 pm

I’m always on the lookout for a great vacuum and I have yet to find one I LOVE. We do have a dog and a cat, so I’m definitely interested in the Pet options on this model.

Gretchen October 3, 2011 at 8:18 pm

Because our five-year-old Kenmore is literally falling apart piece by piece!

Kris Cassady October 3, 2011 at 8:21 pm

My daughter just bought a house and doesn’t have a vacuum. Thankfully I live a mile away and she uses mine several times a week! This would be awesome for her!!

Traci66 October 3, 2011 at 8:21 pm

I really need a new vacuum, mine just doesn’t perform like it once did.
ozzykelley1 at yahoo dot com

Travis @debtchronicles October 3, 2011 at 9:37 pm

My wife and I bought a new vacuum about 10 years ago. It was sort of a “middle of the road” vacuum. Not terrible, not great. Last year, it got into a condition where the brush would stop moving when it encountered any friction. Unable to afford a decent new vacuum, we borrowed from friends for about 4 months. After searching on the internet (when my wife was sick of having to borrow), I found that it may just needed a new belt. I fixed it, and it works again…and it’s still not terrible, but not great. As you know, vacuums tend to deteriorate in “suction” over time.

Help me, make my wife happy by surprising her with a new vacuum! :)

Fernanda October 3, 2011 at 11:13 pm

I need this because I have 2 shedding cats and a dog!! Lol thanks.

Hallie October 4, 2011 at 12:21 am

My vacuum cleaner just broke last week! I’ve had the worst luck with vacuums, and would love to have a new one to keep up with my 3 little guys.

Rachel October 4, 2011 at 7:25 am

I am always on the lookout for a good vacuum. I have 5 very shedding cats and two kids who seems to make a lot of messes. (I have learned not to let them play with moon dough in the living room!) A good vacuum is hard to come by lately. I have gone through so many vacuums it’s mind boggling, lol. My current vacuum’s “pet shedding” attachment does absolutely nothing for pet hair. I would love to be able to try something that could tackle the pet hair hiding in my corners!! :D

Tabathia B October 4, 2011 at 7:25 am

Not only because I need a vacuum that actually has suction but because all four of my kids have allergies that range from minor to two needing prescriptions including myself
tbarrettno1 at gmail dot com

Holly October 4, 2011 at 7:25 am

I really need a new vacuum. I’ve been using a cordless floor sweeper and have been noticing that it does not do a great job picking up all of the fur from our shedding rabbit.

Joyce Howden October 4, 2011 at 7:33 am

If I were home posting this comment I would attach a photo of my two dogs. Or maybe a photo of the hairballs the accumulate every other day. And that’s how much I vacuum. I would love to win this vacuum. Thanks for the review.

Esther Sensenig October 4, 2011 at 7:34 am

I need a new one !! Mine is not working and it’s starting to look bad on my carpeted areas !

sandra October 4, 2011 at 7:38 am

i need a new eureka because my current vacuum is making noises and blowing smoke

Lisa G. October 4, 2011 at 7:43 am

oh wow!!! What an awesome giveaway!! I’ve been in the market for a new vacuum for over a year now, it’s just we keep finding other more pressing needs. I need a vacuum that will really clean, with powerful suction….we also suffer from severe allergies (dust mites!) and I need all the help I can get with cleaning!

Amanda October 4, 2011 at 7:49 am

This looks great, my current vacuum seems to be on its last hoorah and it would be nice to have a new one that works!!

Colleen October 4, 2011 at 7:50 am

Because vacuuming is probably the only chore I like to do!

LoriB October 4, 2011 at 7:51 am

Could really use a new vacuum but money is tight. My current vacuum doesn’t stay up by itself, has a frayed cord and doesn’t smell that good but at least it still does the job.

Sara October 4, 2011 at 7:52 am

2 dogs, 2 cats, 2 kids. It’s a shedding crumb-fest over here! Help!

Janelle from domestically seasoned. October 4, 2011 at 8:14 am

I need a new vacuum because………..the old one is on its last leg. With a Dino midget running around with a bucket full cheerios you could only imagine what my house looks like. A handy dandy NEW vacuum cleaner would do the trick.

AnneJisca October 4, 2011 at 8:14 am

I need a vacuum cleaner! I don’t have one right now, and could really use it to help pick up after my two kiddos. :)

Heather Benoit October 4, 2011 at 8:27 am

I am a very interested in this vacuum cleaner as I just don’t have the budget to buy one now. I have an electralux from years ago that I can’t afford to have fixed so it takes space in closet. I bought a cheaper vacuum a few years ago as I needed to keep house clean while going through treatment for breast cancer and when I moved to my current home 3 1/2 years ago, discovered that it was hopelessly clogged. (did I mention I have 4 always shedding cats?) Since then, I borrow occasionally but mostly use a broom. I finally broke down and bought a stick vac and am hoping that it will just last through the upcoming holidays season! So a new vacuum cleaner would be great!

Nicole Marie October 4, 2011 at 8:35 am

Boy, oh boy! Do I need a new vacuum cleaner. I have three teenagers and three dogs ! My “top of the line” Miele vacuum broke after only 5 years of use and I’m now using a mini shop van to vacuum my house. This just isn’t cutting it as I have wall to wall carpeting in all rooms but kitchen, dining room and bathrooms. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to afford a new vacuum cleaner since I suffered a back injury (2 herniated lumbar discs) in April of this year and have been out of work since. Having this new vacuum cleaner would surely make vacuuming easier for my kids. Thank you so much for reading my comment and considering me for this give away!

Rani October 4, 2011 at 8:36 am

4 kids and I bought our last vacuum at a garage sale for $6 three years ago. It’s time for a new one :)

Anne October 4, 2011 at 8:45 am

We are moving from a ranch that’s all hardwoods with just a couple area rugs to vacuum to a colonial with a fully carpeted 2nd floor and a giant finished basement that’s fully carpeted. (1st floor is all hardwoods.) Would love to have a vac upstairs & in the basement & not lug my current one back & forth to keep things clean!

KAREN LUEDY October 4, 2011 at 9:07 am

I have 2 dogs and 1 cat and really need the PET Power Paw attachment

Richard Heim October 4, 2011 at 9:15 am

We’ve had a house full of animals for years and my highly allergic grand-daughter is coming for the weekend soon.

Shari Taylor October 4, 2011 at 9:19 am

I have had my kirby vacuum for 22 years! its TIRED! and it doesnt have a pet attachment! I have 2 adorable Chihuahuas, and guess where they spend most of their time… you got it. On the couch! I also have a very hairy cat so we have a lot of hair and dust around the house. Just the other day my son accidently stepped on part of my vacuum and broke it. :(

Christy October 4, 2011 at 9:25 am

I *need* this vacuum because ours is old, old, old and definitely is not the NLS version as I think I could pick up more dirt crawling around with a barbie sized vacuum!! LOL!

rebecca October 4, 2011 at 9:55 am

Here’s the scenario:
1915 bungalow
2 kids under the age of 4
1 cat, 1 dog
1 husband

We have messes and the belts on our vacuum keep snapping, perhaps crying for HELP!

Kaye Swain October 4, 2011 at 10:04 am

What a fun contest. With my Sandwich Generation family, we can always use a new vacuum, especially since ours is a smaller stick vac. Both great-grandmother and great-grandchildren have fun vacuuming together so it would be quite sweet. Thanks for a lovely visit.

judyyy October 4, 2011 at 10:16 am

I need this cause I have 4 grandchildren. Need I say more?

Susan Thompson October 4, 2011 at 10:49 am

i have 4 little girls with long hair…i think that says it all but, it gets better, add a little boy and 2 dogs, 2 chinchillas, and a hamster…we’d definately get good use out of it.

Mary Beth October 4, 2011 at 11:02 am

I have a black lab and need something that will do a really good job;)

Melissa October 4, 2011 at 11:06 am

I need a new vacuum because the one I have of course has lost suction. I’m stuck having to go over one small area many many many many many times for it to look decent, and yet I still have to pick up small pieces of leftovers. And as for the dog hair, my vacuum is a joke. I use the roller used to get lint off your clothes.

Karina House October 4, 2011 at 11:08 am

My vacuum is falling apart, literally, but I refuse to buy a new one because it does still work, technically. Of course, it only works when I hold it together while I’m vacuuming. Needless to say, this results in my procrastinating on the vacuuming even more than usual. I could really use a new one!

Janet Johnson October 4, 2011 at 11:16 am

I end up with abandoned cats at my house because I’m in the country. Right now I have 15 cats and 3 dogs in my house. Thankfully I live in a big house so you don’t really see all of them at lonce when you come into my house. Because the house is large and so many cats, I am vacumming every day. It would be alot easier if it was a vac designed for pet hair. With the food and vet bills for these animals, I can’t afford to buy a new vac. I wish people would not drop off their pets that they no longer can care for, but since they do…I make sure they get shots, vet care, food and plenty of love. Thanks for the opportunity to win a new vac.
Janet
janetjohnson523@yahoo.com

Cherie October 4, 2011 at 11:17 am

I need the Eureka Endeavor NLS for one main reason – a cat that sleeps on ALL the furniture. That is not even mentioning the three kids, the many stairs….

Amyrlin October 4, 2011 at 11:41 am

Jenn I have four animals, 3 cats and 1 dog Australian Shepard! One of my cats is long haired, let alone the kids, and the amount of foot traffic my home receives. I have tile, but the furniture and rugs require daily vacuuming. Would love a vacuum like that in my home then I could take my other one to work to be repurposed for group home use!

Jane October 4, 2011 at 11:54 am

My vacuum wouldn’t pick up well because of hair stuck in the rollers, so I cleaned it & now the roller doesn’t work, even though I put everything back together properly, I think the roller motor shorted out. And this one is purple!

Sonja Hanselman October 4, 2011 at 12:26 pm

I have a dog a cat and 2 kids. My current vacuum isn’t picking up the dog and cat hair any more, let alone the crumbs!

Athena October 4, 2011 at 12:44 pm

I’d love to win this, my vaccuum is on its last leg!!

Erika October 4, 2011 at 1:13 pm

I would love a new vacuum to help me with my cleaning. We have a newly-adopted old dog who sheds frequently and with both kids in school now, I have a little more time for upkeep!

Thanks for the opportunity!

Melissa October 4, 2011 at 1:21 pm

I need a new vacuum because my old Hoover weighs 475 pounds and I can barely lug it up and down my stairs!

Lisa Unkel October 4, 2011 at 1:29 pm

I have been looking for a great vacuum for my business. I am a day care provider and also have a sheltie in which I need to vacuum everyday! I would love one that would take care of the dog hair and hold up to all the vacuuming I do! I just can’t seem to find the right one….this may be it. I would love to try it!

Heather W October 4, 2011 at 3:00 pm

I need a new vacuum bc we’ve had ours for 5 years and with 3 cats and a dog – its just not cutting it anymore!
Lovefool827 (at) yahoo (dotcom)

Tammy October 4, 2011 at 5:28 pm

With 2 kids, 2 cats , 2 dogs and vacuum cleaner that’s on it’s last leg…this could definitely go to good use.

Marjorie Ketzak October 4, 2011 at 6:16 pm

I’ve been wanting to go bagless!

carla October 4, 2011 at 6:52 pm

I need this vacuum because I have a dog, a cat and a hamster and 3 children at home one with serious respiratory issues. She does not have allergies but keeping the hair vacuumed up is a full time job to ensure that she stays healthy. Not to mention with her 4 vest/nebulizer treatments a day, I need one that will do it quickly and effieciently!!

Jenny C October 4, 2011 at 7:04 pm

Because the vacuum I have is heavy and I have to bring it up and down the different levels in the house.

Leslie October 4, 2011 at 10:52 pm

We’ve got a long haired white cat, and a black cat…. and our vaccuum is about 10 years old.

’nuff said.

Comments on this entry are closed.

{ 2 trackbacks }

Previous post:

Next post: